THE GAUHATI UNIVERSITY ACT, 1947 (As amended up to date)

(Incorporating the Gauhati University Amendment Act of 1949, 1960, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1976 and 2013)

An

Act to establish and constitute a teaching, residential and affiliating University at Gauhati.

THE GAUHATI UNIVERSITY ACT, 1947 (As amended up to date)

(Incorporating the Gauhati University Amendment Act of 1949, 1960, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969, 1972, 1975, 1976 and 2013)

An

Act to establish and constitute a teaching, residential and affiliating University at Gauhati.

Preamble : Whereas it is expendient to establish and constitute a teaching, residential and affiliating University at Gauhati and to dissolve the Gauhati University Trust Board, registered under the Indian Trust Act, 1882, and to transfer to and vest in the said University all property and rights now vested in the said Trust Board.

It is hereby enacted as follows :

Short Title & Commencement : 1.

- 1. This Act may be called the Gauhati University Act, 1947.
- 2. It shall come into force on such date as the State Government may, by notification in the official Gazette, direct.
- 3. The Gauhati University Trust Board shall be dissolved and all properties and rights now vested in the said Trust Board shall be transferred to and vest in the said University on such date as this Act may come into force.
- 4. From the date on which this Act comes into force, the Calcutta University as constituted under the Indian Universities Act of 1904, and the Dacca Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education as appointed by the Government of Bengal in their resolution No. 1011 Education of 1921, shall cease to exercise their jurisdiction over the educational institutions recognised by the Government of Assam, and the Statutes, Ordinances and Regulations and Rules of the Calcutta University and the Dacca Board of Intermediate and

Secondary Education shall not be operative in so far as they relate to such institutions and the Gauhati University shall exercise authority and jurisdiction over all such educational institutions from the aforesaid date.

- **Notes :** By section 5 of the Dibrugarh University Act, 1965, the two districts of Sibsagar and Lakhimpur have been transferred from the jurisdiction of Gauhati University to that of Dibrugarh University. The relevant section runs as follows :
 - 5. (1) Save otherwise provided in this Act, the powers of the University conferred by or under this Act shall extend to the districts of Lakhimpur and Sibsagar and to such other areas and colleges, institutions and other bodies beyond this territorial limit to which any or all of the powers of the University may be extended by it, with the previous approval of the State Government.
 - (2) From the date on which this Act comes into force the Gauhati University shall cease to exercise its jurisdiction over all the colleges and institutions affiliated to or recognised by it and lying within the districts of Lakhimpur and Sibsagar, and the Dibrugarh University shall exercise authority and jurisdiction over them from the aforesaid date, as if they were affiliated to, or recognised by the Dibrugarh University from the aforesaid date.
- **Definitions 2 :** In this Act and in the Statutes, unless there is anything repugnant in the subject or context.
 - (a) 'Board of Secondary Education' means the Board of Secondary Education, if any, established by Government.
 - (aa) 'College' means any College or institution maintained or admitted to privileges by the University.
 - (b) 'Council' means the University Council.
 - (c) 'Court' means the University Court.
 - (cc) 'Doctors of the University' means persons awarded a Doctorate degree by the University.

- (iv) The Minister of Education of any other State or States, if any, to which the jurisdiction of the University may extend,
- (v) The Registrar
- (vi) The Treasurer
- (vii) The Secretary to the Government of Assam in the Education Department.
- (viii) The Director of Public Instruction, Assam,
- (ix) The Director of Public Instruction of any other State or States, to which the jurisdiction of the University may extend
- (x) The Additional Director of Public Instruction, Assam
- (xi) The Director of Technical Education, Assam
- (xii) The Director of Health Service, Assam
- (xiii) The Director of Agriculture, Assam
- (xiv) The Director of Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, Assam
- (xv) The Principals of Cotton College, Diphu Government College, Assam Engineering College and the Gauhati Medical College.
- (xvi) The Vice-Chancellor of Dibrugarh University and any University in the State.
- (xv) One third of the Principals of Degree Colleges affiliated to the University by election from among themselves in the manner prescribed by the Statutes. In case the number of Degree Colleges affiliated to the University being not divisible by three and found to be more than half, one more College may be inculded but if it is less than half, it may be ignored,

Assam Govt. decision under section 42C, (vide Education Deptt. Letter No. ECL 80/74/23 dated 5.1.76)

9. (I)

(xvii) The Principals of Cotton College, Diphu Govt. College, Assam Engineering College and Gauhati Medical College may be excluded as they are automatically members of the Court under clause (xv) of the aforesaid Act.

If the balance is found to be more than $\frac{1}{2}$, the number may be raised by one if it is less than $\frac{1}{2}$, it may be ignored.

- (xviii) The Principals of the Constituent Colleges
- (xix) 10 persons from the Heads of Departments and Professors of the University being allotted Faculty wise by rotation to be decided by the Executive Council.

OTHER MEMBERS :

- (xx) Persons not exceeding ten in number nominated by the Chancellor from amongest the donors, each of whom has contributed a sum of rupees five lakhs or more to the University.
- (xxi) Seven persons to be elected by the members of the Assam Legislative Assembly from amongst themselves.
- (xxii) Two members of the Board of Secondary Education, Assam, elected by the aforesaid Board.
- (xxiii) Ten persons of whom at least two shall be from the professional Degree Colleges to be elected by the teachers, other than the Heads of Departments and Professors of the Departments of the University and the Principals of the constituent and affiliated Degree Colleges from amongst themselves.
- (xxiv) Two Registered Graduates elected by the Registered Graduates of the University who are not employees or students of the University or the affiliated Colleges.
- (xxv) Ten persons distinguished in Literature, Law Medicine, Engineering, Technology, Commerce and Public life nominated by the Chancellor.
- (xxvi) Two persons to be nominated by the Chancellor from amongst those whose interests are not otherwise represented.
- (xxvii) (a) Seven representatives to be elected by the Post-Graduate Students of the University from amongst themselves.

Provided that a student to be so elected must have been student of the University for at least one year prior to his election.

Provided further that no student who has taken more than one year in excess of the period prescribed for the course of which he is a student would be eligible for such election.

(b) Two representatives to be elected by the Law students of the University from amongst themselves.